Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: So many choices..

Feedback Score

So many choices..

Hi all,

I'm a noob when it comes to AR-15's (long guns in general). I've been reading/googling for at least a month and I can't quite find the answer I want. Most of my shooting experience comes from hunting with shotguns and occasionally, a .22 for squirrels. I recently purchased my first Handgun (Sig P226 Legion) and have been having fun at the range as often as I can. I want an AR-15 as well.

At first, I was certain I wanted as close to an M4 as I could get and I discovered the Colt LE6920 and LE 6920 SOCOM. Then I also discovered that it appears they don't make them anymore, but you can still get the OEM 6920. I'm not sure I want to build my first AR, though as I'd prefer the piece of mind of it being put together professionally along with a factory warranty. I then discovered the FN 15 M4 Military Collectors Edition which is also on my list. The more I researched, though, the more I found I liked. I'm also interested in a BCM Mid 16 Mod 2, their REECE line and hell, even their M4 line. How does one even begin to decide? Is there any things I should look out for when comparing a 6920 to say, a Mid 16 mod 2? I'm starting to shy away from the "need" of an AR as close to an M4 as possible, but I guess the biggest thing I'm trying to get over is that I feel (in a SHTF scenario) I'd be better served with the 6920 because its the closest to what the Military trusts. I know the Military buys from the cheapest seller, but I can't get it out of my head. Are "non-M4" AR's just as accurate/reliable as M4's?

All these choices are making my head spin lol

Thank for any input!
    Last edited by JWages; 03-09-18 at 12:06.

Feedback Score
    Go with your gut and buy the Colt. If you can't find a Colt in stock, BCM is a solid choice as well.