Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First time AR buyer: Requesting sanity check

Feedback Score

First time AR buyer: Requesting sanity check

I've shot ARs many times however it's always been friend/family, always pushed my own purchase off until I had a gun safe which means getting a house - I'm about a year away from that. With the constant media #Resist which is going to result in a 'blue wave' in 2018 and 2020, I'm wanting to get an AR-15 before the next Congress can F up our rights so they can satisfy the emo voters.

All that being said, the amount of options out there is...daunting to say the least. $3k ARs like a KAC, while I could afford one, just don't seem like something I really need. I'd rather keep the price in the $1500 range, but could go more if that was really required. I'm fully expecting that long term, at a minimum, AR-15 will be banned and at best, current owners will be grandfathered in.

I've been thinking about building, but, I have no experience putting one of these things together, and then that requires actually sourcing all the different piece parts. I looked at the Larue Ultimate Upper, it seems like something that is a good deal, as far as I can tell one needs to spend $800 on it and then get a lower of their choice, and that's it; and Larue sells their lowers to people purchasing their UU kits. Then I was looking at LWRC... And then I went full circle and started looking at just piece part building my own because it'd probably be more fun (but geebus, the options for literally every part)...

What would you guys recommend?

Feedback Score
    18 (100%)
    Do some reading on this site and you'll quickly find the pretty much universal recommendation for a first AR is a Colt 6920 and an Aimpoint of some sort. Then if you have an interest in building something let that be your second rifle.