Thread: Just That Quick, I Had a Non-Functioning AR

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Just That Quick, I Had a Non-Functioning AR

Ask just about anyone and they'll tell you that assembling an AR is as simple as snapping together a Lego kit. But what they don't tell you, one moment of inattention and you've got an AR that doesn't work and a key part possibly destroyed.

Today, I got a package from Brownell's containing shims, screws, a couple bottles of Loctite but most importantly to me, a new pistol grip I wanted to try. I took my box of goodies down to my workshop, thinking the biggest challenge before me was deciding which AR I wanted to install the new grip on...

...until just that quick, in a moment of inattention and complacency, I started the screw crooked and damaged the threads in a top drawer lower. Just that quick. I am an experienced technician. I install bolts, screws and nuts on aircraft assemblies on a daily basis, often in difficult locations without cross threading anything. But now I had damaged the threads to the point where I could not get the grip screw to start straight at all. Fortunately, I was able to file a taper on the starting threads of a spare screw and was able to use it to clean up the threads I damaged. Another way to clean up the damaged threads would be to remove the fire control group and carefully thread a long screw from the top down. In this case, the damage was minimal and I was able to install the grip. But, if I had damaged the threads beyond repair, my AR would have been down until I could get a new lower, or installed a Helicoil.