Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broken Barrel Nut

Feedback Score

Broken Barrel Nut

To start off with, I’m very new to assembling my own ARs as This thread will show.

I tried to set an 8” 300 blackout barrel into the enhanced Aero Precision Upper.

I used a Geisele(sp) reaction rod in my vice with Aero Precision’s barrel nut and wrench with my own, way oversized for the job torque wrench.

Long story short, Aero Precision recommends 50-55 footpounds of Torque. I think I was able to manage 35-40 pounds of torque before the wrench warped and broke basically every tooth off the barrel nut. I ordered a new wrenched and tried my best to remove the barrel nut, but it’s basically impossible. The barrel is in there SOLID.

My question is... am I completely out of luck and should scrap the upper or will I able be able to safely fire the upper, and just be out of luck in a year or so if I wanted to change out the barrel?

Thanks.

Feedback Score
    pic of wrench? I dont even know how thats possible.

I would try to remove the nut, maybe weld or jb weld a cheap wrench to it.
    Or just assemble it and see how it works, id imagine it will be fine, assuming you didnt cross thread it or anything like that.

I still dont understand how teeth broke off.
    Last edited by MegademiC; 06-10-18 at 10:30.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Pic of the whole thing? What barrel nut?

Feedback Score
    Pictures to follow this evening.

So when I say “wrench” I mean the wrench attachment that has grooves to fit the barrel nut.

https://aeroprecisionusa.com/m4e1-ba...ut-wrench.html

According to Aero Precision, this is a pretty common problem and it’s difficult to keep the torque wrench perfectly perpendicular.

The barrel nut is this one, with all teeth broken off.

https://aeroprecisionusa.com/cop-barrel-nut.html

Feedback Score
    11 (92%)