Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5" or 9.25" barrel for suppressed 9mm upper

Feedback Score

5" or 9.25" barrel for suppressed 9mm upper

Now that Missouri is a suppressor friendly state I am going to be picking up a 9mm one with a 3 lug HK type attachment.

I want to build an upper for my SBR that will use a free float handguard to cover most of the can. It is also going to get used on a customized Walther P1 that the guys at C&S Metall Werkes in St. Charles are going to build for me(they have a P4 modified for a can there that I fell in love in love with but was already sold).

I am leaning towards the 5", but I have very little experience with suppressors and wanted to get the opinion of the more experienced. Ammo will be 147 grain subsonic stuff for the most part.

Feedback Score
    As to the can the SWR Trident gets high marks (that is the one that I am going with). It have removable end caps so that you could switch out the three-lug end cap for a threaded one for you handgun. If you plan on running a can the AR all the time then the 5" is the way to go. If you see yourself using the can on the .22 a lot and only occasionally then I would go with 9in on the AR.

Feedback Score
    The SWR Trident is actually the one they recommended to me.

I think the suppressor will spend more time on the AR than the pistol so the 5" is probably the better choice.

The Walther barrel is going to be modified with the three lug set up as well. The front sight will be moved to the slide like a P38K.

These toys sure get expensive.

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    5" barrel and SWR Trident suppressor.

Yes, I realize I am missing my front sight -- it got cannibalized for a "primary" carbine.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by SHIVAN View Post
    5" barrel and SWR Trident suppressor.

Yes, I realize I am missing my front sight -- it got cannibalized for a "primary" carbine.
    Thanks for the photo Shivan. That is exactly what I am looking to build.