Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brake Cleaner

Feedback Score
    88 (100%)

Brake Cleaner

Lots of stuff online shows people using non-chlorinated brake cleaner to degrease guns before painting, in place of acetone to clean threads, etc. This is my first time using it and I’m surprised by the coloration it left. Thoughts?

In the SF WarComp install video, Barry was spraying the threads with acetone pretty liberally, a quick Google made it seem like brake cleaner is less aggressive so I’m curious about this now.

I’m thinking that there was enough oil on the barrel that it’s just the cleaner working, but it seems like a stark contrast between the part the brake cleaner hit and the rest of the barrel. I’m wondering if I just didn’t realize the entire barrel had some oil on it but my OCD would like confirmation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Last edited by Wake27; 10-15-23 at 14:31.
    Sic semper tyrannis.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I believe this is due to chemical reaction between the brake cleaner and the metal. A light dish washing detergent, water, and nylon brush will get take care of it.
    “You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.” -Augustine

Feedback Score
    I did the same before painting a gun, and then got paranoid and re cleaned everything with dawn dish soap. Paint held up well, many paint coats, and finished with a matte clearcoat

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    For painting purposes use Acetone, no residue left behind.

I've had stuff fish eye after hosing it down with brake cleaner.
    Handy for washing the paint back off though or prepping parts for assembly juice.

I wash it in hot water and Simple Green first with a hot water rinse.
    Warm it up to flash off the water and spray it down with Acetone, towels and phosphate is the devil, unless you don't care about fuzzies.

Feedback Score
    50 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by One More Time View Post