Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Condition 1 vs Condition 3 for Fight

Feedback Score

Condition 1 vs Condition 3 for Fight

Which one would you rather have in a self-defense situation, SHTF, combat, war...whatever: a pistol capable of being carried cocked & locked (like the 1911, CZ-75, USP..), or a pistol with a decocker (like the M9, P226...)?

Feedback Score
    Neither. I would rather have a striker fired, safe action pistol.

But that is only because the only formal training that I have had with a pistol, was/is with the Glock. I have been carrying a Glock for the last 15 years.

Feedback Score
    I meant condition 2 not 3.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    As you learn more about pistols and examine their use for serious social purposes you'll discover that a well trained user can use practically any pistol well enough to get the job done, and that each type of operating mechanism brings its own particular advantages and disadvantages to the table.

Glocks, for example, are really quick to get into action because there are no safety mechanisms in the way of pulling the trigger. It's easy to make one go bang when you want it to. The downside to a striker fired pistol with no manual safety and a ~ 5.5 pound trigger is that it's easy to make it go bang if you don't want it to. With good training, development of safe handling practices, and sane equipment choices you can minimize the downsides of the platform.