Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Clocking your Comp/brake" (FSC556 et al)

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)

"Clocking your Comp/brake" (FSC556 et al)

I am happy owner of a PWS FSC556. I use it on my BCM 16" middy upper.

Here is my question: do you 'clock' your muzzle brake or compensator away from top-dead center/ 12 o'clock? I am debating to experiment with rotating my FSC556 more toward the 12:15-12:45 position to combat the up-and-right muzzle movement during firing; has anybody else done this? Did it help? Am I just trying to mask my inferior shooting ability (no sarcasm here; maybe I just need to get better)? Experienced opinions welcome.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    The FSC556 is supposed to be installed with the PWS logo exactly at 12 o'clock.
    Before you go and adjust something, try adjusting the way you are mounting the rifle on your body. Try to control it better. I'm not a professional but that's something I would try first. Go with the easier solutions and work from there.

Feedback Score
    23 (100%)
    I'm pretty sure the guys over at PWS are aware of the way an AR muzzle will rise and have implemented that into their design so that the logo sits on top. But it will only cost you a crush washer to find out. Post results if you do I'd be curious to see the difference.
    "We prepare, so we don't end up at the superdome"- unknown

"IMHO, if you wanted to shoot crap ammo, you should have bought a crap upper. It makes baby Jesus cry when he sees crap ammo put through a nice upper."- C4IGrant

Feedback Score
    I touched on the subject in the following thread.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=41352

Feedback Score
    17 (100%)
    Reply in my email from PWS:

"We designed the FSC556 to provide optimum compensation at the 12 o'clock position. There is no need to clock it off center as we did the work for you. Thank you very much and have a great time at the range."