Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: handguards

Feedback Score

handguards

I'm fairly new to AR's. I bought a RRA about 5 years ago and haven't really started researching them until now. I'm planning on building one now and starting off with a BCM upper. Can anyone tell me what the biggest differences between handguards are? why is there such a price difference between Daniel Defense, Larue, Troy, MI, Double star ect....
    Thanks in advance,
    Dan

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    you're just gonna have to do some reading around here... this topic is actually a lot more broad than it probably seems like it should be.

but in summary:

"Free float" handguards are more expensive- these handguards usually take the place of the OEM barrel nut and delta assembly, contacting the weapon only at the barrel nut, allowing the barrel to "float" freely. this prevents stress put on the handguard from changing your Point of Impact (POI) at ranges past 100m. the amount of play in POI caused by putting pressure on the handguard usually isn't enough to change POI more than a couplefew MOA (minutes of angle) at even 300m... so the big benefit really comes from distance and/or precision shooting. if all you need is rails, you can get two-piece handguards systems that are not free-floated that cost about half as much.