Thread: 7.62x25

Feedback Score

7.62x25

Anyone around here got an upper chambered for Tok? I've seen a couple different ones but never really talked to anyone who had one.
    Mostly, the prices put me off. I wondered what you'd do for magazines.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Yes, I have been playing with that round in AR15 rifles for about 8 years now. I originally used CZ sub-gun mags in a Cav Arms lower. My latest build is a piston upper with a magwell block from Heavy Metal Co. that uses PPsh magazines. Runs like a raped ape on semi and full auto.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    If you're a DIYer or not, here's HMC's linkity:

http://www.heavymetalco.com/content.aspx?Page=Tokarev

This is going to be my next build, in 7.5" with a YHM 762 QD Phantom for the 15oz Ti can I plan on getting next year.
    30 caliber junkie.

God Bless America.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I recently sold off a transferable Yugo M56 subgun in 7.62x25. That is a great round. It chronyed out at 1800 fps through the 10 barrel. Ammo is still cheap on the surplus market. A minor redesign using a lightweight alloy spitzer bullet would be a perfect PDW round.

Feedback Score
    A good friend of mine has a 7.62x25 conversion. I don't know the specifics on parts, but I can at least give you a few things to think about based on his experience.

In my mind this is not a plug and play option the way building a 5.56 AR is. Mostly because of the magazines. He spent A LOT of time getting the mags to work right, up to an including welding up mag catch slots and re-positioning them. All that in addition to building the upper itself, which I guess is no big deal if you have the tools.

No bolt hold back on empty mag from what I understand. Not a huge deal I guess, but it is a negative in my mind.