Thread: New To Me Colt 6450

Feedback Score

New To Me Colt 6450

I am a firearms instructor at our local police academy. When training the cadets on carbine we have been using Colt 6450 9mm Carbines which reduces the training cost over 5.56 ammo. The guns generally get maybe 100-200 tops through them with each academy. We jsut traded 10 of them to a local gun shop as trade fodder for new ones. The shop was offering t let the instructors buy them back at a discounted rate.

I was fortunate enough to be able to cherry pick the one I wanted prior to it being delivered to the gun shop. Very few cosmetic marks on both receiver groups. Bore is bright and clean, a few cosmetic marks in the mag well from use but the reality is that the rifle probably doesn't have even 3000 rounds through it. I got the carbine, two 32 round mags and original Colt box for $650 and tax.

Now the big question.....what to do with it? In reality its a 6 pound pistol, but I bought it mainly to use at local indoor range where I do some other instruction. The range restricts carbines to pistol caliber so I have a legit need. Now the want......do I trick it out a little? Was thinking of a Daniel Defense rail to replace the handguard? Maybe mount an Aimpoint Micro H1 on that rail with a LaRue mount of proper height to co-witness with factory carry handle sight? MagPul stock?
    "You Can't Miss Fast Enough, To Win The Gunfight" - Andy Seminick

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Pistol caliber carbines have utility, esp in the context you describe. If you're using it for alternative caliber practice, set it up identically to whatever you're using for duty/serious purposes.

Curious... With the development of better sub-caliber training ARs (22LR), why did you elect to stick with a 9mm platform?
    2012 National Zumba Endurance Champion
    الدهون القاع الفتيات لك جعل العالم هزاز جولة الذهاب

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Skintop911 View Post