Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pigs

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Pigs

So after no pigs for 5 years on our property, we checked one of our cameras last night and counted 15+ pigs in a plot. I've heard they can really tear shit up and I have no experience in dealing with them. I'll be damned if they tear up the land we just bush-hogged and planted. Too much time and money.

How have you dealt with them?

Traps?

AR-15 time?

I know in Mississippi which is where I'm located, you can hunt them at night.

Really wish I had a NOD and a suppressor right about now.

Feedback Score
    35 (100%)
    Sounds like a good opportunity to test the terminal ballistics of 223/5.56.

Sent from my Sprint EVO via Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by n517rv View Post
    Sounds like a good opportunity to test the terminal ballistics of 223/5.56.

Sent from my Sprint EVO via Tapatalk
    Yea, that was my initial thought. I guess I'm more interested in successful tactics like what time of day, calls, bait, long range shooting, up close ect...

Feedback Score
    35 (100%)
    I wish I could say I have a lot of experience with piggys, but I don't. I've been trying to find a place to use my 6.8 in MO for months, but to no avail.

I do know you need to check with your local dept of wildlife if you haven't already. I live in KS and they are illegal to shoot, but right across the border in MO it is "shoot on sight" with no hunting license required. Weird.

There is a lot of information on hog hunting on the 6.8 forums, you might want to check that out.

Best of luck getting rid of them.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Thumbs up

They're fun to hunt, but they do a lot of damage to land/crops. Your best bet is a combination of hunting them and trapping them. It seems like they go nocturnal once you start shooting at them. You can always put lights on your feeders to shoot them in the night - although night vision makes things easier.. and fun!