Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mid length build advice

Feedback Score

Mid length build advice

I am considering building a new rifle after I get my funds together. All my experience is with standard carbines and full length rifles. I've never used a mid length system before.

Has anyone used LMTs enhanced bolt and bolt carrier? I like the looks of the LMT enhanced extractor but it's a proprietary part and a high wear one at that.
    H or H2 buffer? Are the carbine extraction upgrades necessary with a mid length system on a standard bolt?
    Any experience with the VTAC forend? It looks like a good handguard but I wonder if it won't heat up excessively during extended firing sessions.

Feedback Score
    Ok, I guess noone has any input on the last inquiries. I'll try a new one.

Is anyone beside Sabre selling a properly made chromed bore mid length barrel? I see that CMMG sell them but I don't know if they are the quality that I am after. Noveske only sells the 14.5" chromed barrels. I'd really like 16".
    Am I missing anyone?

Feedback Score
    I'm in the process of building midlength carabine.

I went with Sabre Defence 16" barrel 1/7, Daniel Defense upper receiver and midlength rail. Bravo Company bolt group and stock Stag carabine lower.

Paul

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    I haven't heard any bad things about CMMG.

Feedback Score
    In the AR15 Comparison chart CMMG is listed in the column for barrels that there are reports of them being out of spec despite being listed as being within spec.
    If I can clear up the quality questions with their barrels I can get exactly what I'm thinking of from them. Otherwise it will have to be a Sabre barrel and the only Sabre barrels I see for sale have the sight towers installed. Not a big deal to swap out the tower for a low rise gas block but if I can get the barrel set up the way I want if from the start I think I'd rather do that.