Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Reloading .45 ACP (230 grain FMJ): What Else Do I Need?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Reloading .45 ACP (230 grain FMJ): What Else Do I Need?

I'm just starting out reloading, and I'm hoping I can get some advice. I bought some equipment and supplies a while back but had to postpone things due to my work situation. Now I'm trying to get back at it.

Here's what I have so far:

* RCBS Model 505 Reloading Scale
    * Lee .45 ACP Carbide Dies #90513 (uses #13 shell holder)
    * Lee Class Turret Press (4 hole)
    * Hogdon Clays Powder (shows 5.2 grain for .45 ACP)
    * Magtech Large Pistol Primers #2-1/2
    * Montana Gold 230-grain FMJ Bullets

I know I still need to get some more equipment and supplies, but I don't know what else I need. All I want to reload is basic 230-grain FMJ loads.

Any and all help will be much appreciated!

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    While you are picking up the rest of your supplies, I'd get a reloading manual or 3. There is must have info in there that is really going to save you a lot of grief... maybe your hands and face as well. Dont know your situation and I'm not trying to preach, just sayin!

Dial or digital calipers are a must for determining your OAL, so add those to the list. That is really going to play a role in how the round feeds in YOUR pistol and what kind of presure going to ned up with. I noticed you mentioned 5.2gr. of Clays. I know the front of the jug list that, but you're really going to want to work up all your loads. I shoot 4.0gr. of Clays behind 230. Clays is fast, soft and clean. But, if I want a "regular" 230 FMJ load, I love W231. I think its all relative to what you want.

One can go on forever... There's a metric crap-ton of info out there, just go slow, be safe and have fun.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    You are going to need some brass.
    Certified Glock Armorer

Feedback Score