PDA

View Full Version : Switching out a Daniel Defense handguard

PalmettoPrecision
02-27-12, 21:28
Just picked up my Daniel Defense m4 v7 LW today. I've been wanting the v5 but my distributor has had a hard time keeping them in stock long enough to get one. I hate trying to get a hold of firearms around the election time, so I needed to get a hold of one now.

I called daniel defense and they said they would trade the new modular float rail that came on the v7 for the omega 12 rail that comes on the v5. I just have to pay the difference of 70$

I have zero experience removing and installing free float handguards and was wondering if anyone has messed with the MFR by Daniel defense.

Should I be able to remove the MFR and install the omega 12 without sending them the whole rifle? Are the barrel nuts the same? I have very little AR tools... just allen keys and basic stuff.

Thanks in advance.

!Nvasi0n
02-27-12, 21:39
You probably better let them or a smith do it if you've never done it yourself....Brownells might have some web bench videos on how to DIY

globeguy
02-27-12, 22:23
Between V5 and V7 I would definitely keep the V7. That's just me though, I don't attach enough stuff to my quad rails to make it worth while.

What are you planning on attaching on your quad rail?

PalmettoPrecision
02-27-12, 22:58
Honestly, my reasoning for wanting the full rail probably isn't legitimate to most people.

First off, I want to mount hand stops and a foregrip in places that are limited by the holes in the MFR. I also want my hand in line with mounted objects like my light, instead of protruding from the rail pieces. Hand stops will be useless because of the protruding rails. I can recreate the "slick" rail with panels, and can have better control of mounted accessories.

Secondly, and about 30% of my reasoning, is I just think the MFR is ugly. I like the Troy TRX, it looks much better IMO.