PDA

View Full Version : Will trigger pull get better with use?

DeviousMind
02-27-12, 22:10
I have a BCM complete lower, stock trigger. The trigger seems long and stiff. Is it that way because it is new? Will it get less stiff with use? I know I can replace it, but I actually like the crisp break on it, just wish the pull was a little shorter. Any thoughts would be appreciated. I am a noob at shooting AR's in general.

nimdabew
02-27-12, 22:33
In short: yes.

J_Dub_503
02-27-12, 22:45
There is a break in period but you may be interested in a ALG Defense trigger. It's a affordable way to upgrade your battle trigger.

MistWolf
02-27-12, 22:57
Definitely maybe. It's the often repeated mantra that a trigger will eventually wear in (I've been guilty of stating so myself) but the sear surfaces are hardened. I've found over the years that it takes several thousand trigger pulls to see even a small improvement.

The pull of the AR trigger may lessen with use, but the creep will not. The best thing you can do with your stock AR trigger is use a heavy grease on all the sear surfaces, run it that way and see how you like it

polymorpheous
02-27-12, 22:58
Definitely maybe. It's the often repeated mantra that a trigger will eventually wear in (I've been guilty of starting so myself) but the sear surfaces are hardened. I've found over the years that it takes several thousand trigger pulls to see even a small improvement.

The pull of the AR trigger may lessen with use, but the creep will not. The best thing you can do with your stock AR trigger is use a heavy grease on all the sear surfaces, run it that way and see how you like it
Dry fire and grease.
I have to agree.

steelonsteel
02-28-12, 00:11
I've found that over, say, a thousand rounds, it will feel slightly smoother, but not worlds of differance, and the length fo pull usually never changes...