PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts about BCM SAM Rifle or A5

Wa22ioR
02-28-12, 23:37
Hey guys and gals,

Done a search and haven't found a whole lot discussing the usefulness of BCM's SAM Rifle or A5 Rifle. I am new to BCM, but have heard nothing but good things about them. I am looking to purchase my first "nice" AR outside of the military.

I am a combat veteran, and currently a police officer, and need a rifle for those "situations" and I am thinking about taking some high speed, low drag, training classes. Would also be interested in DMR courses for urban warfare.

How would you guys rate the rifles listed above for the uses I want with them. I figured the two rifles listed would be much heavier and bulkier than a standard patrol rifle, but to be honest, it wouldn't get used much with the profession hopefully. I am looking for a dual purpose gun. I would like something accurate for gunfighter and sniper type courses, but also something that would be very effective for police work, if needed.

It seems like I can only purchase the uppers of both rifles listed. Anyone know where I could buy the complete rifle of either? Or is there anyone that has a nice used one?

Thanks for you help in advance guys.

pleaforwar
02-28-12, 23:58
Are you on patrol or are you on a specialized detail/unit?

C-grunt
02-29-12, 00:02
Being a LEO myself I think a Recce setup would be far more useful. Considering urban distances limit your shot range the lighter 16 inch barrel would work better and be just as accurate.

Wa22ioR
02-29-12, 00:09
Are you on patrol or are you on a specialized detail/unit?

Thanks for the quick reply. I am on patrol. However, like most places, we can only use ARs in certain circumstances.. Won't be always walking around with an AR. :p

Wa22ioR
02-29-12, 00:12
Being a LEO myself I think a Recce setup would be far more useful. Considering urban distances limit your shot range the lighter 16 inch barrel would work better and be just as accurate.