PDA

View Full Version : Honeycomb "Fluting" -Pics Added

Orange-Fox
03-01-12, 20:13
I'm a Layman and compared to Strait fluting, Spiral, Diamond-Spiral, YHM Diamond and KAC Dimpling, Honeycomb seem to be the best in aesthetics and weight savings, what do the great minds here think about it, it's merits and demerits and are any other company contemplating offering it? because at the moment only Legion Firearms are making them and they don't make SBR barrels.
http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/7409/lfhoneyfde2.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/692/lfhoneyfde2.jpg/)
http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/7166/212012205051920pm.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/706/212012205051920pm.jpg/)
Pic used are from warsport-us.net with permission.

kartoffel
03-01-12, 21:00
machining a cold forged barrel? really?

Edit: since the pictures were added, I just want to say that barrel really does look cool. I'd consider dimpling or fluting a lathe-turned *stainless* barrel, but not a forged barrel. The whole freakin' POINT of forging is to put the metal in its final shape with beneficial residual stresses. Cutting on a forged barrel like that defeats the purpose.

TehLlama
03-01-12, 21:03
If you want a functional rifle, get a CHF barrel in the profile that meets your needs (accuracy against weight mostly), and leave it alone. As attractive as this stuff is, the weight savings is usually minimal, especially for the cost.

caelumatra
03-02-12, 01:26
If you want a functional rifle, get a CHF barrel in the profile that meets your needs (accuracy against weight mostly), and leave it alone. As attractive as this stuff is, the weight savings is usually minimal, especially for the cost.

Yep. I've got an 18" Noveske 308 I had dimpled and while the quality of work is outstanding the weight savings does not at all justify the cost. $250 for a little over half a pound saved.