PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a heavier round?

Sierra1926
03-03-12, 13:11
Hey, I am new to the site and look forward to learning more. I got a question and wasn't sure where it belonged. If this is the wrong thread, I can move it.

The rifle I built is a RRA upper/lower with a White Oak 24in 1:8 varmint barrel that is floated, with a 3.5-10 scope. I was shooting Fed 55gr TRU ballistic tips at 100 yds and it would only hold about a 3-4 inch group. Is the twist too fast for the light round or should I try a heavier round?
Again I am still learning and I thank ya'll for any help.:)
Sierra

Jake'sDad
03-03-12, 13:33
That same load shoots under an inch in my BCM 1-8 twist SS upper I got from Grant, even with me shooting, so either your gun doesn't like it, or there's some other problem.

BTW, that load is a great varmint load, but a lousy defense load, just FYI.

Belmont31R
03-03-12, 13:41
Try some open tip match (OTM) bullets like Sierra Match King, Nosler, Hornady, ect.

55 grain rounds can be accurate but Ive noticed they are more susceptible to wind than heavier bullets in the high 60 to mid 70 grain weight.

Microalign
03-03-12, 13:52
1:7 twist rates will stabilize 55gr bullets just fine. So, a 1:8 twist rate is no problem.

If you want to calculate it, the Greenhill calculation for determining the slowest twist rate for bullet stabilization is:

Slowest Twist Rate = 150/(bullet length/bullet diameter) x bullet diameter

Most 55gr bullets are around .647" in length, and .223 Reminton is actually .224".

150/(.647/.224) x .224 = 11.62...........or 1:12 twist