PDA

View Full Version : Muzzle break/comp question

karlglen101
03-03-12, 21:11
Hello. I did a few searches looking for details on muzzle breaks and compensators. I really didn't find the details lumped together with good comparisons/reasons that I'm looking for. I'm new to AR's, and looking to get into 3 gun with it. Can you tell me what you think is the best break/compensator out there? I plan on using it on a 16" bbl. I'm not concerned about flash/noise necessarily as this will only be used for competition shooting. However, I'm looking for all of your opinions so that I can do some more research and try to make an informed one. Thanks!

TangoSauce
03-03-12, 21:14
I like BattleComp and KAC triple tap.

The Surefire brake is nice too.

Hmac
03-03-12, 22:20
You mean muzzle brake, not muzzle break.

BattleComp, unless you're rich, in which case get the KAC. You won't notice the difference between the two until your credit card bill comes.

maddawg5777
03-03-12, 23:18
Another vote for the battle comp. For the money you can't go wrong with one on a competition gun.

rob_s
03-04-12, 06:09
For 3 gun you'd be better off asking this on the Brian Enos forum. The Surefire brake (http://www.surefire.com/MB556K-Muzzle-BrakeAdapter) and the Miculek comp (http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=5573/Product/AR-15-MICULEK-COMP) are both very popular.

Are any of the major competitors on 3-Gun Nation using the BC? The BC is designed to offer a compromise between the negatives of flash/blast with as much "braking" action as they feel they can get away with. 3-Gun competitors aren't going to care about flash/blast and are instead going to want max braking.

wahoo95
03-04-12, 06:22
BC is nice but wouldn't be tops for all out competition like 3 gun. If blast and flash are no issue I suggest the SJC Titan, Cooley Rolling Thunder, JP, or Miculek.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

rapomstage3
03-04-12, 06:37