PDA

View Full Version : NOOB and Quick Advice

dw_player
03-09-12, 11:21
I'm a noob to all things practical about this platform. I keep reading and learning of course but would like some advice. I've researched manufacturers, styles, read the sticky FAQs, etc. and saw what I thought was a good deal yesterday. But maybe I'm looking at it wrong. I found a gently used (looking at the bolt face anyway) 14.5" mid length A2 style weapon. Its a stamped Rock River lower for 5.56/2.23 and I have no idea about the internals and trigger. The thing that caught me was its a complete BCM upper. It's chrome lined barrel, not the hammer forged one. Again mid length gas system and 14.5" with a fixed flash hider. That plastic magpul hand guard, daniel defense rear sight (not a folding style), magpul pistol grip and magpul 6 position stock. Has one 10 round pmag. $650 OTD.
Seems like about $1200 to build (if you could get the BCM upper that is...;-) ).
I looked at the etiquette and didn't see anything about posting prices etc. I didn't list the store. If I broke a rule I apologize in advance.
Good deal? I think so but again this is my first everything. Including post on this site.
I put it on layaway until I can get some input and education.
Am I overlooking something? Too star struck with the BCM upper?
Any help is appreciated guys and thanks in advance.

Iraqgunz
03-09-12, 11:34
BCM is showing 14.5" midlength uppers in stock (regular and lightweight) as well as standard chrome lined barrels.

There is no indication of how many rounds are through it, you have no idea about the BCG and you stated you nothing about the lower.

Personally I am very leary about buying used stuff especially if I don't know who built it, round counts, etc.....