PDA

View Full Version : What AR would you get with a $1500 budget?

firearmslawyer
03-13-12, 08:36
Howdy guys:

I would deeply appreciate your advice on this as I am not up to speed on the very latest builders/quality trends/value options. I had a couple Bushmasters 13 years ago or so and they were fine I guess, when I could get them to run, probably tired mags were the problem. I sold them. My HK MR556 is heavy but simply awesome. Accordingly, I am no expert on the latest, greatest AR options.

My friend Matt is looking to get his first AR and he has a budget for the base rifle of about $1,500. I would like to get him to be able to spend more and get an absolutely top shelf rig but there you are.

I suggested he look at Daniel, BCM, LWRC and HK (granted, more coin required for most options here) but what do the AR experts here suggest Matt consider?

Thanks so much for your help on this.

Kind Regards,

Chris T.

J8127
03-13-12, 08:37
I, who's opinion is worthless, would buy a DDM4 Version 1.

RGoose
03-13-12, 08:42
Not to be rude, but there are a large number of posts on this topic. The answers are always the same; Colt (model 6920), BCM, or Daniel Defense. Choose your flavor of Kool-Aid, they all taste the same.

The 6920 is probably the best value, as it will leave some money left over for at least ammo, possibly a day to two day class on how to properly use it.

jwperry
03-13-12, 08:43
What does he want it to do?

Does he want to shoot the balls off a fly at 200 yards?
Does he want a 3gun rifle?
Does he want a gun that can be dropped from a helicopter and not shift its zero to still hit steel at 50 yards?

firearmslawyer
03-13-12, 08:54
Thanks for the replies so far. Please keep them coming.

He is in Austin and he wants to be able to shoot a hog or a deer with it from time to time, for some recreational fun, maybe a class or two with it, and also, like many of us, he just wants a high quality rifle that can be depended upon for TEOTWAWKI.

Thanks guys.

CT