PDA

View Full Version : Smoothing recoil impulse

Shagnasty
03-15-12, 01:28
So I got some high speed video of my AR and bolt bounce is not an issue. I'm running a CAR buffer and standard spring right now on a 16" middy from ST (pencil profile barrel if it matters)

It does however appear that the bolt is slamming to the rear of the extension which makes for the highest spike in recoil impulse. I was wondering if running an H buffer or a heavier buffer spring would possibly slow down the impulse. I was considering an A5 system but I am a college student and have a budget.

can anyone proffer any pro's and con's of one over the other? thank you.

bp7178
03-15-12, 01:40
Yes, heavier buffers will slow the velocity of the bolt carrier.

If you slow it too much, you can induce problems. Fail to lock on an empty mag being one, fail to feed etc. Some of these can also be magazine problems, so if you're testing use the same magazines throughout any testing.

My advice would be to buy an H3 buffer, which has three tungsten weights. This is opposite a CAR buffer which has three steel weights. You can swap them around to make an H or an H2.

Ammunition will also effect this too. So test your setup with all ammunition you foresee yourself using.

The heavier you make the moving assembly, it will change not only the recoil on the rear stroke, but forward as well.

The A5 setup is a little different, as it uses a rifle spring which has a different spring rate than a carbine spring. The A5 system uses a heavier buffer than a typically found in carbine setups, 5.33oz with the stock buffer.

Just food for thought.

IndianaBoy
03-17-12, 21:04
It depends on your criteria... but as a gamer (3-gun) I have a solution.

Adjustable gas block, JP LMOS carrier and buffer, and possibly a comp.

I have experienced perfect reliability with the JP system in my 3-gun rifles. They get run hard, and often dirty. My only malfunctions in the past 2 years have been mag related.