PDA

View Full Version : Help zeroing my 10 22 rifle

Colt1910
03-18-12, 11:20
Hi

I mounted a Simmons scope on my 10 22 and took it to my near by indoor range to zero. At 25 yards my shots were down and left and it seemed to me that the windage and height controls did not give me enough adjustment to move my patterns up and to the right to zero the target. I spent an hour and could not get it. I'm a total beginner, never zero'd a rifle by myself. I was not prone and the shooting position was not the best but I'm wondering if My mount is that far off? Does that happen?

I modified my ruger by swapping in a tapco stock, added a low profile utg mount and accushot profile rings

I'm going to go back to the range next week and give it a shot but any guidance would be greatly appreciated. I want to get the rifle zero'd before I go do appleseed in April

Thanks

Oscar 319
03-18-12, 11:22
Have it bore sighted, then dial it in from there.

Iraq Ninja
03-18-12, 11:28
Probably something wrong with the scope. Simmons is a mid to low end company. Was the scope new, and what model is it?

mallowpufft
03-18-12, 11:38
First off, how well do you shoot it with iron sights?

Get rid of the UTG mount. I've been rocking a low end Simmons 3-9 scope on my 10/22 with weaver rings on it for damn near 8 years and it works well once you get past the 100yd parallax when you're shooting it closer.
Also, if you're not prone or using a bench and some sort of rest you won't get a good zero. The 10/22 bolt slams back in to a metal pin which makes things a bit wonky. Drop in a bolt buffer from VQ or the like and that will help, some.
If you swap the mounts and bore sight it and are still having problems pick up a BSA Sweet .22 scope for 50 bucks from amazon. They're nice little scopes (this and the sweet .17 are the only good things I've had from BSA).
Spend more than you're comfortable with on the mounts and you won't regret it.
Also, how are you holding the gun?