PDA

View Full Version : Coating tips? From those that know.

Cerberus
03-18-12, 15:41
I am planning to start coating my rifle sometime this summer, and have a few questions about the best way to go about this. I plan on using either Duracoat or Cerakote. I want this thing to look professionally done when I'm finished. Do I completely disassemble the rifle to paint all the parts individually or should I just coat the rifle in groups?

Col_Crocs
03-18-12, 18:33
If going for more than a rattle can job, it would be best to completely disassemble your weapon. Degreasing would be more thorough and all parts evenly coated. I have no experience with Cerakote but I looked it up and they require bead-blasting of parts which I'm personally not so keen on, especially on anodized parts. I dont know if it holds up just as well if you dont.
You might want to consider NOrrell's moly-resin as well. I know some folks here have successfully applied it directly on parked and anodized parts.

BUCKrub91
03-18-12, 20:27
If your doing a pattern its probably best to leave the rifle assembled.. or else the pattern wont match up when you put it back together

Cerberus
03-20-12, 16:03
Thanks for the replies. Maybe I'll just go the duracoat route, as it seems easiest with what I've got. I plan on only coating it solid FDE. And camo I add will be rattle canned.

danish
03-20-12, 19:23
If you don't plan on doing all the steps like abrasive blasting don't even bother. You said you wanted it to look professional so do all the steps a professional would do. Steer clear of Duracoat and go with Cerakote. Cerakote may be a little more intensive in prep work and baking but you will have a much better product that will last longer. As for bead blasting anodized aluminum, your more so just hitting and roughing the surface and not removing anodizing. Practice a bit prior on something you have laying around and go from there.

556noob
03-20-12, 22:20