PDA

View Full Version : Buying used Gen 2 G19 vs. buying a brand new G19

brickboy240
03-21-12, 13:18
Greetings!

I have been looking at buying a new autopistol for carry and defense and the one I keep coming back to is the Glock 19.

I currently own two 2nd Gen Glocks (17 & 22) and both have been stellar since I bought them in the mid 90s. Honestly, I don't recall the 2nd Gen G-17 ever jamming....ever. I liked the PPQ but the mag and holster issue keeps me away. XDs and M&PS seem nice but again...I have no longtime experience with these guns. The Glock 2nd gen platform just seems familiar and I am used to it.

Since there seems to be many QC issues with the 4th gen and recently made 3rd gen Glocks...how silly would it be to buy a lightly used 2nd gen G-19 instead?

I have found several lightly used 2nd gen G-19s for sale well under 400 bucks. Some even have night sights. they are police trades that were carried often and shot little and show hardly any wear on the inside. My 2nd gen G22 was a police trade in and it runs great and has done so for many years of light to medium shooting.

Since I am already used to the 2nd gen grip (with no grooves) and don't plan on hanging a light on it...this is one route I am considering.

Is there any real downside (minus the usual ones from buying used guns, period) to this idea? I mean, didn't Glock build its reputation on the 2nd gen guns? My 2 other 2nd gen Glocks are some of the most trouble free pistols I have ever known.

Since the used 2nd gen G-19 is cheaper and the QC issues with newer G19s are known....is this a safe bet? Were there glaring parts changes from 2nd to 3rd gen G91s that make this a bad move? They still use the same mags...right?

Thought I'd ask....I am new here so don't beat me up too much if this seems like a strange question. People tend to stay away from 2nd gen Glocks, when I have found them to be totally trustworthy.

...worth a shot?

Thanks,

brickboy240

RD62
03-21-12, 13:27