PDA

View Full Version : Select-fire

ShermanM4
03-23-12, 12:36
This might be in the wrong forum, sorry. Just wasen't sure where to put it...

I am a commissioned securty officer here in Texas.

I was talking to a co-worker about the AR I just bought and he told me: "You know you can get a select-fire switch put on there for 3rd. burst since your a commissioned security officer".

I told him he was full of crap

He sent me the link to this webpage:

http://www.gtdist.com/WeaponsPolicy.aspx

Part way down the page:

Sworn Law Enforcement officers, including Federal, State, County, & City. Includes retired L.E. officers with "retired" credentials

EMT’s, Fire Fighters, Volunteer Fire Fighters, and Paramedics

Military personnel including Reservists and National Guard with I.D. - Includes retired Military with "retired" credentials

Corrections Officers, including Parole and Probation Officers

State Licensed Security Companies (Loomis, RAM, etc.) State Licensed Armed Security Officers

Court Judges, District Attorneys and Deputy District Attorneys.

LE Academy Cadets with enrollment documentation from the Academy

Since it says State Licensed Armed Security Officers he says that we go by the same criteria as law enforcement sales since they are a contracted law enforcement dealer.

Can anyone point me in a direction that talks about the law's for owning a weapon with a 3rd. burst? He went on to say if it was "full auto" I wouldn't be allowed, but 3rd. burts I could. I think he is making this up.

Any help in proving him wrong would be appreciated.

MegademiC
03-23-12, 12:47
The link you had showed this:

New GLOCK Sales from our Texas and Georgia Locations: Due to our contract with Glock the following Texas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Kansas, Georgia, Florida and Missouri customers can purchase new Glock pistols from GT:

Sworn Law Enforcement officers, including Federal, State, County, & City. Includes retired L.E. officers with "retired" credentials