PDA

View Full Version : Which mount & BUIS for Aimpoint T1?

Paul Kersey
03-26-12, 23:36
Hi guys

I am relatively new to the AR world and recently purchased a BCM 16" midlength rifle. Love it so far, but I have been using iron sights only and am ready to add a red dot and BUIS. I decided on the Aimpoint micro T1 and purchased the sight already, but I am totally confused by all the mount and BUIS combination choices. I am not sure if I want absolute cowitness, lower 1/3 cowitness, quick detach, flip up vs fixed rear sight, etc.

Any suggestions? I intend to use the rifle for carbine courses, self defense and home defense.

Thanks

kVon
03-27-12, 09:02
My ideal self-defense set up is to have fixed front and rear sights, with a 1/3 cowitness. For mounts, Daniel defense or Larue would be my suggestions.

Doc Safari
03-27-12, 09:12
I purchased the T-1 with the LRP mount package because I didn't really know at the time what height I wanted the T-1, and that was a convenient way to start. I do believe there are better mounts, but the height was perfect and I bought the package on closeout from an online vendor for less than the price of just the T-1 elsewhere.

I use it with a folding GG&G rear sight. There are probably better rear sights, but I got that one for $40 used and I decided that was a good starting point to help me decide.

Six months or so have gone by and I have not replaced either the LRP mount or the GG&G BUIS. The flip-up BUIS is 1/3 co-witness with the T-1 on the LRP mount, and this seems about right since I would only use the BUIS in the event of an optic failure.

Later I may switch to a Daniel Defense mount for the T-1 and a different BUIS, but for now this works for me and both seem "adequately" durable.

ridgerunner70
03-27-12, 09:17
This was a pic that some one sent me to help with my decision

ridgerunner70
03-27-12, 09:24
Hi guys