PDA

View Full Version : SBR'd SCAR (I'm new to this so bear with me)

JR TACTICAL
03-29-12, 01:45
Hey Guys, I have been looking around online about the rules of SBRing a rifle but could not find an answer to my question, I have always had my questions answered here so here is what I got:

I was thinking about SBRing my SCAR 16, I really did not want to chop the barrel down so I was just going to wait till FNH released factory barrels to the civi market and do it then. I found someone on the FN forum with factory SCAR 16 barrels so I want to buy one, but not before asking this first:

After I purchase the factory barrel, I will have to get it chopped down the the length I want( I was thinking 10.5). Now after I chop the barrel, and get the lower engraved, am I only allowed to use the 10.5 inch barrel or can I use the factory 16 inch barrel as well and actually use the rifle for its purpose with quick barrel change capability.

Like I said guys, I am brand new to the NFA game and if this has been answered already sorry.

Thanks for your help in advance
JR

J_Dub_503
03-29-12, 02:21
You must have the scar engraved before you have the barrel cut...otherwise you'll be breaking the federal law of receiving with intent to build an NFA weapon (or something like that.) After you have it engraved and registered you can use either barrel.

May I ask what the purpose of SBR'ing the SCAR is?

jwfuhrman
03-29-12, 06:04
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=9830

This applies to not just AR15's lowers but ANY rifle with a barrel less than 16in. Thats step by step instructions on how NFA works.

Iraqgunz
03-29-12, 06:33
That's not really true. The engraving can be done at anytime. What you cannot do is build the weapon prior to having the Form 1 approved.

The general rule of thumb is that you don't broadcast to the world what your intentions are, you don't taunt the BATFE and you don't sell drugs from your home.