View Full Version : Failure to eject question

Bal4eva
04-07-12, 13:14
I am new to reloading and I just fire my first 50 reloads. Went well for the most part but I did have 2 failure to eject resulting in a double feed. Easily cleared by removing magazine and extra round then racking the charging handle. I was using once fired (from my gun) hornady brass. Rifle is a BCM and I have never had any malfunctions before.

Hornady 68gr BTHP
24.7gr Varget
#41 cci primers

I had to scrap the 2 rounds that got jammed up behind them but the rest fired great. Any thoughts as to what the cause was or how to prevent this in the future?

SteadyUp
04-07-12, 16:39
Just to clarify, the round was extracted from the chamber, but not ejected? Or was the round not extracted at all? Just a little confused by your description.

Also, does your extractor have an O-ring behind it? Approximately how many rounds shot through the gun total (before the reloads)?

Bal4eva
04-07-12, 16:43
It is a bcm bolt the way they come ( I have not added anything). And the brass was still in the chamber. Sorry for the confusion.

Bal4eva
04-07-12, 17:12
I also just noticed some excessive wear on the upper from the cam pin on the bolt. I wonder if that was caused by the extraction problem or something else. I will post a pic when I get a chance.

polymorpheous
04-07-12, 17:21
I also just noticed some excessive wear on the upper from the cam pin on the bolt. I wonder if that was caused by the extraction problem or something else. I will post a pic when I get a chance.

Wear inside the upper from the cam pin is normal.
This is one of the first place you will see wear.

shootist~
04-07-12, 17:43