PDA

View Full Version : Decocker on DA/SA pistol?

Clobbersauras
04-09-12, 22:57
Guys, I have a couple questions about using the decocker on a typical SA/DA Pistol.

1) Movement; If you've engaged targets (pistol now in S/A mode) and then need to move (to cover, the next target, whatever) would it be better to decock the pistol before moving or just keep your finger off the trigger and outside the trigger guard while moving?

2) Tactical reload; If you've engaged targets (pistol now in S/A mode) and determined that it's now time to top off the pistol, would it be best to decock then perform your tactical reload? Or tactical reload and then decock?

Personally it seems like decocking is the way to go in both situations but I'm interested in feedback on the topic.

LowandLeft
04-10-12, 00:04
I'm not an expert, by any stretch, but I've ran a VAR 1 USP through a couple of classes and I've been told that you always decock for movement. As far as tactical reload I would assume that you have already moved to cover to accomplish this, so you wouldn't need to decock? Otherwise, I would probably put it on safe and tac reload.

Clobbersauras
04-10-12, 00:31
Thanks for the response, good point about moving to cover to tac reload. I didn't immediately think about moving to cover during the reload but it makes sense that if you move you decock.

I use a P2000, there are no external safety's.

sboza
04-10-12, 00:57
Guys, I have a couple questions about using the decocker on a typical SA/DA Pistol.

1) Movement; If you've engaged targets (pistol now in S/A mode) and then need to move (to cover, the next target, whatever) would it be better to decock the pistol before moving or just keep your finger off the trigger and outside the trigger guard while moving?

2) Tactical reload; If you've engaged targets (pistol now in S/A mode) and determined that it's now time to top off the pistol, would it be best to decock then perform your tactical reload? Or tactical reload and then decock?