PDA

View Full Version : M&P 9 or 45

JML2321
04-13-12, 21:51
I know this has been discussed before, but with the recent M&P 9 accuracy issues I'm not sure if I should pull the trigger on one at this time. I am leaning towards the .45, but the ammo cost difference between the two is keeping me from fully deciding. I know the 9mm is a fine cartridge for self defense and with modern ammo the gap is closed but there still is a gap and I feel more comfortable with a bigger and heavier bullet. That said I would like some opinions on this and on a side note, I am trying to decide on the Full-size or Mid-size if I do go with the 45. I have read the Mid-size balances better, but the full-size has extra velocity and sight radius. Also the .40 is out of the question and I plan on reloading in the distant future.

Dos Cylindros
04-13-12, 22:08
Many users here and in other locations use the M&P 9 with no issues. I have no experience with the M&P9, owning only the M&P 40 (duty gun) and M&P 45 (home defense gun) but I doubt I would have a problem buying an M&P 9 if I felt the need to. That being said, go with the M&P 45, it is a proven performer and a time tested self defense round. 9mm, 40 S&W or 45 ACP, it really does not make a big differnence other than cost of ammo and how many rounds fit in the magazine. It's easy to reload 230 grain ball, and if all I had left to depend on was ball ammo then yes I would rather have 45 ACP.

OldState
04-13-12, 22:17
You can buy 9mm barrels for the 40 cal guns. You just then need 9mm mags.

Mike from Texas
04-13-12, 22:25
The obvious answer is buy both. :)

http://i1112.photobucket.com/albums/k493/Mike-from-Texas/76092856.jpg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Striker
04-13-12, 22:33