PDA

View Full Version : Upgrades to a carry G19?

TeamGrazzi
04-16-12, 22:28
I am getting a G19 for carry (and possibly IDPA or GSSF). What changes are best and I do understand this question is going to have a variety of answers.

I am new to the CC game and notice that a lot of people have 2 of their carry weapons, is this just to keep the round count down on the one you carry ?

Wake27
04-16-12, 22:34
What generation are you looking at getting?

Sights would probably be number one I would think. Everything else is going to take some getting used to to figure out what you want to change. LAV and Tango Down have some great options for the controls, such as slide and magazine releases but you should figure out how you like the stock options first. They also just released some magazine base plates that have a few nice features. There is also a backstrap addition that offers more of a beavertail and changes the grip angle some. And some people change out the connector for a lighter trigger pull. However, I don't know if all or any of these are legal for different competitions. I think I remember seeing at least one item that wasn't IDPA or IPSC legal so keep that in mind. Also a lot of people will stipple or cut down their frames for a better grip.

I'm not saying any of these are a good idea, but they're probably the most common upgrades done and I don't think I've heard anything bad about any of them. The connector is the only thing I have done so far, but I wanted to stay OEM and use mine for CCW as well so I use the Glock Connector 5, which drops the trigger pull by about .5 pounds.

First and foremost make sure you get a good holster for CCW. I've quickly learned that there are about 19 billion options for holsters. And many of them are good, its just preference.

http://www.nettac.com/Glock-Gear_c_31.html

RagweedZulu
04-16-12, 22:36