PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Treatments (nitride/CL)

Senior Bigg
04-18-12, 14:12
I am not an expert if any of my information is incorrect please correct me. I do not have any impending NEED/WANT to do anything to my rifle this is purely an inquisitive post based off my interest on this topic.

From what I have read I feel I have a good understanding of what CHF barrels are, how they are made and some benefits offer (like removal of kinks or density inconsistencies in the metal and a longer overall barrel life). From what I understand CHF consistently gives accurate shots for a longer duration despite the barrel getting hotter. My interest is in how the barrels are treated. From what I have come across it seems like one can either choose a CHF with chrome lining or a non-CHF with Nitride.
Chrome lining: Although chrome lining hampers accuracy to a certain degree it makes the barrel last longer because one would have to “go through” or wear out the chrome before getting to the steel. Once this happens the inside of the barrels may have imperfections leading additional lose in accuracy (I don’t know the round count it would take for this to happen). The thicker the lining the longer it will take to wear down. The most wear occurs in the throat and the edges of the lands within the barrel. Chrome lining adds to the barrels dimensions. Having said that, the harder the steel is underneath the chrome the longer it will take for the chrome wear.
Nitride: Doesn’t add anything to the dimensions of the barrels because it’s a surface treatment. The surface metal of the barrels is changed making it harder than chrome lining and more wear resistant. It’s more corrosion resistant; it keeps the accuracy of the barrel (unlike chrome lining) and gives the barrel a longer life.