PDA

View Full Version : could someone elaborate on backtension?

sspro2340
04-20-12, 23:29
I watched THIS VID (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Azb3q8wOrV4&feature=youtu.be) a few days ago and tried it out, but not sure if I understand what I am really doing. Can someone explain it better or elaborate, just something so I have more to think about when I am at the range.

Thanks.

2theXtreme
04-21-12, 23:02
Since no one else has responded I will give it a shot. I am far from an expert on anything but the instructor in the video explains it pretty well. When you draw and point your gun normally you are in a neutral position with your wrist tension. When you turn the gun inward from your normal position and bend your wrist backward (like flexing the outside of your forearm) that is applying back pressure. This helps with finishing with your finger flat across the face of the trigger. Which in turn helps you stay on that line on the target.

How to diagnose if you need to use back tension, I am not 100% sure. Print out those targets from Haley's blog, go to the range and follow the instructors directions and see how it works out for you.

Good Luck!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

sspro2340
04-21-12, 23:44
When you draw and point your gun normally you are in a neutral position with your wrist tension. When you turn the gun inward from your normal position and bend your wrist backward (like flexing the outside of your forearm) that is applying back pressure. This helps with finishing with your finger flat across the face of the trigger. Which in turn helps you stay on that line on the target.

So should I turn the gun to the side by moving it over by using my firing side shoulder then use the wrist to flex it back toward the target?

I feel like I'm not doing it right because then I have to acquire a new sight picture by moving my head. I feel as though I am not bringing the gun to my eye but instead moving my eye to my sights now...

thanks for the input though