PDA

View Full Version : Marpat or Multicam

ridgerunner70
04-23-12, 10:38
Looking to purchase some good camo for bow season coming up. Where is a good place to find Marpat or Multicam bdu? Looking for a good quality set.

El Cid
04-23-12, 10:45
What are you hunting? I'm no scientist, but my understanding is that what animals see and what humans see are significantly different. What hides you from one may not hide you from the other.

The patterns you asked about were engineered to hide you from people. That would seem a little dangerous for hunting purposes. I would focus more on camo specifically designed for hunting. Realtree, optifade, mossy oak, etc. There are patterns geared toward the terrain and the animal.

Sry0fcr
04-23-12, 15:52
The patterns you asked about were engineered to hide you from people. That would seem a little dangerous for hunting purposes. I would focus more on camo specifically designed for hunting. Realtree, optifade, mossy oak, etc. There are patterns geared toward the terrain and the animal.

This is probably really, really good advice but you should be able to find Marpat and Multicam from someplace like US Cavalry.

B Cart
04-23-12, 16:24
I would focus more on camo specifically designed for hunting. Realtree, optifade, mossy oak, etc. There are patterns geared toward the terrain and the animal.

Having hunted hard for the last 18 years, I would have to agree with this. I have used many different types of cammo to hunt everything from ducks and geese to deer, elk, antelope, moose, bears, coyotes etc. Most of the big game animals I have taken in close with a bow, and some with a muzzle loader, so I have seen the importance of good camo to get in close.