PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Barrel Swap and Free-Float Install

blackscot
04-24-12, 08:49
I've been contemplating these mods to my so-far stock M&P15 (flattop receiver, M4 barrel, fixed front site).

I've never monkeyed to this extent on an AR (although I used to do all kinds of things to 1911's, and I'm not too idiotic with tools in general). A few discussion threads and web videos have me believing it's within my ability, although I'd definitely like to know of any fine points to look out for. Appears to mostly be a matter of getting the right tools.

Mostly though, I'd like some direction on which components to choose from. I'd like to change the M4 barrel for one of the lightweight "pencil" type, but I have no knowledge of variations in quality among the different makers.

While I'm at it, I'd like to install one of the smooth type (non quad rail) free-float handguards. Just the single rail across the top is all I should need. I'd also like as good of ventilation/cooling as possible, and a small outside diameter of the tube. Again, I have no knowledge of quality among current offerings.

I'm assuming I'd be replacing the current fixed-sight gas block with a low-profile type under the handguard, and then installing a flipdown front sight on the handguard rail.

So, that's the vision. Any input, direction, advice, etc. is appreciated.

djmorris
04-24-12, 14:43
My advice would be to keep the barrel you have. I'm running a BCM lightweight profile and while the weight savings is nice, I definitely like a standard or government profile barrel just as much. You should seriously consider sticking with the barrel you have. Put the money saved towards ammo, training, and perhaps the free float rail.