PDA

View Full Version : Getting shot in a 20 round AR magazine

Ronin64
04-30-12, 20:02
I am a uniformed police officer and I carry a Colt 6940 on duty as my patrol rifle. I keep it loaded with a 30 round PMAG, but I keep a 20 round GI mag in my front vest pouch of my kevlar vest, it fits nicely between the actual armor and the trauma plate. Its relatively easy to draw it if I need a quick reload. I have enough stuff on my belt and I can't fit the 20 round mag on my belt.

Anyway, another officer commented that this practice was dangerous in the even that I was shot in this 20 round mag... as it would cause other rounds to go off causing more trauma to myself. I have personally never shot a full magazine to see what happens, so I have no idea. However, I have seen incidents where ammunition was dropped on the floor and exploded.

Does anyone have any experience/knowledge of what would happen if the 20 round mag were shot while it was in my vest?

I know when I was in the military, all my mags went on a tac vest setup, so I suppose the danger is the same?

Suwannee Tim
04-30-12, 20:10
Let me clarify, the trauma plate is between you and the mag? Exploding ammo poses a minimal hazard because he cartridge case being unsupported by the chamber ruptures at low pressure. Powder, especially rifle powder needs higher pressure to burn completely. I was present when a shotgun shell exploded in a buddy's pants pocket. The pants were ruined and he got a small, slight burn. I wouldn't give it another moment's thought.

GTifosi
04-30-12, 20:25
+1
You've got a significantly higher chance of being injured by sharp bits of mag and brass when pulling it out of the stash point.

Ronin64
04-30-12, 20:26
It goes: vest - mag - trauma plate insert.

Chameleox
04-30-12, 20:28