PDA

View Full Version : New Addition: FNH FNS-9

BrigandTwoFour
05-01-12, 18:52
Just brought this home today. I won't get it out to the range until this weekend, maybe.

I've been agonizing over a striker fired 9mm for six months. It came down to the Walther PPQ or this. The pistol is more for my wife than me (heh, we all know how that actually works), so I ultimately chose to take the route of easier recoil impulse and control familiarity. She already handles my Beretta 92A1 and 1911, and understands the control layout for the magazine release, the FNS operates the same way (though totally ambidextrous). The FNS reportedly has much less muzzle flip than the PPQ, though I suspect that that flip would easily controllable.

I handled a PPQ in .40 a few weeks back, I liked the trigger and reset a lot. I still don't care for the little Glock-like trigger safety, though. The FNS's trigger seems pretty good. Not as good as the PPQ, but much better than a factory M&P or Glock. There is a little bit of grit on the initial take up, but a smooth easily predictable break. I suspect that the grittiness will smooth out after a thousand rounds or so.

It came with Trijicon night sights already installed, so that's a bonus.

I watched a thread on FN Forum where they did the 2000 round challenge successfully on the FNS, no failures or stoppages reported up through 2050 rounds (and counting).

I will have more to say after getting it to the range. I plan on using it for my weekly drill and competition.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-WU9j4Od9Xdk/T6B0pbNsz8I/AAAAAAAAAdI/2jkZeAWPA0k/s720/photo.JPG

Fried Chicken Blowout
05-01-12, 18:59
I'll be interested to hear updates. I'm a big M&P guy but an FN striker gun is interesting to say the least. I use their SLP MK1 as my 3-gun shotgun and I have no complaints. Keep us up to date!!

djegators
05-01-12, 19:16