PDA

View Full Version : Minimal Backup Parts

skywalkrNCSU
05-04-12, 09:24
If you were collecting spare parts for your one rifle to be able to fix parts if they break, what would you look to buy? The main thing that comes to my noob mind is the bolt and maybe the barrel.

Anything else I should look into getting for backup purposes? Obviously anything could break, I am more interested in the most likely parts to fail so in a SHTF situation I can fix my rifle.

Odglock
05-04-12, 09:39
I'm far from an expert but I try to keep a spare bolt, firing pin and pins and springs. In my experience these are the things most likely to fail.

Ramone
05-04-12, 10:13
If I was going as far as a barrel in spares, I'd go to a full upper.

And if I was that far, an extra US$300.00 or so would give me a lower for a complete rifle, yanno?

My spares is a BCG (complete), Plus an extra Ejector pin and FP retaining pin ( as they are most likely to be dropped and lost)

Springs and pins for the hammer/trigger & selector spring & detent.

I don't keep BUIS on my rifles, but I have a set for each.

Iraqgunz
05-04-12, 12:28
Most people do not have the tools and knowledge to properly change a barrel. Also, are you looking for TEOTWAWKI parts, or something for everyday?

I would probably keep at least a BCG handy, buffer spring, and the spring for the selector lever/ ejector.

I have been acquiring parts steadily so I can virtually replace or rebuild and entire carbine + if needed to.

Generalpie
05-04-12, 12:34
It really depends on what your intended purposes are.

If you must have a functioning rifle immediately upon one going down a complete back up is the way to go. Easy to store all those small parts when they are assembled in a complete package.

Otherwise, a BCG and gas rings from the upper and all the springs from the lower. When is the last time a barrel broke in the middle of a string of fire?