PDA

View Full Version : Casio G-shock

sboza
05-04-12, 22:55
I did some searching on m4c and it seems like Casio G-shock watches are pretty durable. I begin a le academy shortly and I need a watch that has a stopwatch, timer, alarm, and can be completely silenced.

I was looking at this model as it is cheap and I expect it to get beat up quite a bit: http://www.amazon.com/Casio-DW9052-1V-G-Shock-Classic-Digital/dp/B000GAYQLI/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Am I scraping the bottom of the barrel? Does anyone have any experience with this or a similar model? Any alternate recommendations in the $50-100 range? Thanks guys.

.45fmjoe
05-05-12, 00:30
I have no experience with the watch, but I need to get one for wear on duty since wearing an expensive automatic is kinda stupid.

Good luck in your academy, keep your nose clean and in the books. Oh, and make sure you can run and how are your pushups? Can you shoot? ;)

NongShim
05-05-12, 00:44
I wear a G-Shock all the time. I don't have that model. I got a solar powered one on clearance for less than $40. It has been awesome for 5 years. I wear it more often than my Suunto Vector lately, because it is less bulky. I assure you that a G-Shock will be robust enough for your academy.

sboza
05-05-12, 01:31
I have no experience with the watch, but I need to get one for wear on duty since wearing an expensive automatic is kinda stupid.

Good luck in your academy, keep your nose clean and in the books. Oh, and make sure you can run and how are your pushups? Can you shoot? ;)

Thanks for the well wishes. I'm not too young so getting into trouble isn't as much of a concern but your advice is well received and appreciated. Hitting the books and maintaining motivation for some of the more tedious material is going to be a challenge but I hate to fail at anything so that should push me through.