PDA

View Full Version : USGI Triggers

CLJ94104
05-05-12, 21:51
I have a Bushmaster M4 lower with the OEM trigger kit.

I really hated it so I used my mechanical trigger pull gauge to test the weight after the range yesterday. The gauge maxes out at 8#s.

The pull weight was above 8 every time I tested. This is totally unacceptable for me.

I want a trigger system (preferably USGI) that has a 5 - 6# pull weight.

This is my range gun, but also my home defense and SHTF gun so this system has to be reliable. It has to be able to consistently shoot military ammo.

Any ideas gents? I saw the ALG ACT system, any thoughts on how that would fit my needs? I would really appreciate the help guys.

One last thing, I don't want to spend $150+ on a trigger system. This isn't my precision rifle.

ForTehNguyen
05-05-12, 22:16
few of my ALGs average between 6.25 to 6.5 lbs. I would recommend one if you want to stick with a USGI type trigger. I havent seen any of mine go below 6 lbs. Mil spec tolerances are between 5.5 and 9 lbs for AR triggers. So it can be hit or miss. I actually have one trigger that's 5.75lbs, not sure what brand it is.

CLJ94104
05-05-12, 22:34
few of my ALGs average between 6.25 to 6.5 lbs. I would recommend one if you want to stick with a USGI type trigger. I havent seen any of mine go below 6 lbs. Mil spec tolerances are between 5.5 and 9 lbs for AR triggers. So it can be hit or miss. I actually have one trigger that's 5.75lbs, not sure what brand it is.

6.25-6.5 is much better than the around 8.5 I seem to be averaging. Has anyone tried something like a Daniel Defense fcg from their lpk and the JP enhanced reliability (red hammer, yellow trigger) springs? I hear mixed things about the DD lpk.

ST911
05-05-12, 22:47
How many rounds on the trigger? Good wear-in already, or is this a relatively new FCG? I've found that most GI triggers will smooth out and lighten up a bit with use.

CLJ94104
05-05-12, 23:05
My BM trigger has been fired 2000+ times.