PDA

View Full Version : Blackout 51T - Noob Question

skywalkrNCSU
05-06-12, 14:41
I am looking at getting a flash hider for both my AR-10 and AR-15 and have heard good things about the AAC Blackout. I feel like a complete noob asking this but does that flash hider simply screw on to the end of the muzzle? I am not looking to permanently attach something and I assume you can screw it on but was getting confused when looking at AAC's website.

Thanks.

Iraqgunz
05-06-12, 15:06
Generally speaking these types of flash hiders are also used as suppressor mounts.

Not sure why you wouldn't want it to be permanent, but in any case for proper installation you need to use shims, apply some torque and in most cases Rocksett.

Why don't you tell us what you are trying to accomplish.

Stickman
05-06-12, 15:57
I am looking at getting a flash hider for both my AR-10 and AR-15 and have heard good things about the AAC Blackout. I feel like a complete noob asking this but does that flash hider simply screw on to the end of the muzzle? I am not looking to permanently attach something and I assume you can screw it on but was getting confused when looking at AAC's website.

Thanks.

Not much point in getting the 51T unless you have plans for a 51 tooth can to go along with it.

skywalkrNCSU
05-06-12, 16:40
OK, I guess it isn't the 51T that I want, I am looking for the blackout flash hider for my AR-10 and AR-15.

The AR-15 one doesn't confuse me it is finding one for the AR-10 that does. On the AR-10 FAQ posting over at AR15.com it says the threads on most AR-10's is 5/8-24 and when I select the non-mount 7.62 flash hider from AA's website it says it is 1/2x28. The 51T however, has one that is 5/8-24 and says it is for an AR-10.

What I meant by not wanting it to be permanent is I want to screw it on like the current flash hider on my gun is.

jpmuscle
05-06-12, 19:06
OK, I guess it isn't the 51T that I want, I am looking for the blackout flash hider for my AR-10 and AR-15.