PDA

View Full Version : Modifications for the S&W 686

skywalkrNCSU
05-06-12, 21:46
A buddy of mine used to have a 686 that was formerly owned by a TX state revolver champion and it was the sweetest shooting gun I have ever held. He has long since sold it and so I was wondering what are some things I can do to my stock 686 to improve its performance? I am a total noob when it comes to modifying revolvers so I don't even know what is out there and what gives the most bang for your buck.

Sam
05-06-12, 22:07
First of all, shoot it, shoot it a lot. Then you will know what shortcoming it has. If you're not planning to shoot it a lot, then any modification is useless and wasted.

Learn how to manipulate the double action pull. Learn it until you can consistently shoot groups at 7/10/15 yards. Start close, if you can't get any consistency at 7 yards, put the target closer, 5 yards, hell 3 yards if that's what it takes for you to hit consistently. What target will you shoot? Something with small aiming point. A 2" aiming dot is a good one. You will hear this phrase a lot, "aim small/miss small". If you shoot at a target the size of a door, your group will be the size of a door. Resist the temptation to shoot the huge silhouette targets, or the Osama or zombies. They develop poor marksmanship.

Once you can consistently shoot 2" or 3" groups at 7 yards, move farther.

Most S&W revolvers don't require any work. If you plan to compete in formal events that require the balance of speed and accuracy, then you may need to get a COMPETENT gunsmith to perform a double action trigger job on your 686. The double action pull does not need to be ultra light, just smooth and lighter than the factory pull but not too light that it will not consistently ignite the primers. Many shadetree gunsmiths get too excited and lighten the trigger pull past the point of reliability.

The sights on the 686 are adequate for 99% of most shooters need.

But the first thing is, shoot it.

skywalkrNCSU