PDA

View Full Version : AAR: Vickers Tactical 2-Day Handgun May 5-6

FChen17213
05-07-12, 13:00
Class: Vickers Tactical 2-Day Advanced Handgun

Date: May 5-6 2012

I had the good fortune of being able to attend this wonderful class this past weekend. Larry is one of the best and most sought after instructors in the firearms industry, and you'd be foolish to pass up an opportunity to take a class taught by him. I'm not very good at AARs and my memory isn't all that great either, so other students please chime in on what we did and what order since I'll probably get some of it wrong.

On the first day, we began by firing a few shot groups at varying distances so that Larry could gauge the general skill level of the class. We shot at NRA B-8 Repair centers that were stapled on IPSC targets. Larry is very very accuracy oriented, and he explained to us that he expects all rounds to go in the black. Shots in the white are frowned upon, and anything in the cardboard is really basically a miss.

We then moved into the famous Vickers dime/shell casing on front sight drill. Of course the goal is to dry fire without the shell casing falling off of the front sight. In addition, Larry added a twist to it in that you had to pull the trigger at the beep and within 3/10s of a sec I think. This way people couldn't take forever to do this, and it made the drill significantly more challenging.