PDA

View Full Version : Handgun shipping dilemma

cpoth
05-12-12, 07:07
I have searched all over the place and tried to post this in general discussion but did not have access.

I am a Pennsylvania resident.

I am a student in Florida.

I would like to ship a handgun to myself or somehow transport it to my address in Florida.

I am flying back to Florida after a pistol class on Saturday. The UPS customer center will be closed by the time the class ends and I will fly out before it opens again Monday.

I am flying back to FL from Newark (don't ask, fiancé booked flights won't happen again).

How can I legally transport this back to myself?

Thanks for any and all help.

JW5219
05-12-12, 07:59
Get in touch with the airline that you are flying with. Before you do, go to the AR General Discussion forum and read the sticky by Jason Falla- Airline tips for the Tatical Traveller. Plenty of good info there.
Good luck!

RichDC2
05-12-12, 09:46
Try Fedex to yourself or drop it off at a local ffl after class and have him ship it.

05-12-12, 10:09
Fly with it.

ST911
05-12-12, 11:20
Fly with it. Recommend that you review the dozen or so threads on flying with firearms for best practices in doing so.

crh428
05-12-12, 11:42
You can fly with it or you can ship it to yourself. Shipping to yourself involves no change in ownership and therefore does not require an FFL.

I would fly with it, personally. A $25 checked baggage fee is cheaper than UPS/FEDEX overnight.

Urban_Redneck
05-12-12, 20:01
As it sounds as if you are running a tight schedule, I would find a way to ship it or see if you can borrow a gun for the class.