PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 won't fire more than one round.

Miroku
05-13-12, 20:03
I have a Bushmaster M4-style AR. Just to make it easier for you to get an idea of what's going on, internally it is stock except for the bolt carrier group (BCM), buffer (H3, BCM), Wilson Combat tactical trigger unit (single-stage; replaced after problem started). I got through 20-40 rounds with no issues. Then, after the case ejected, I squeezed the trigger again and heard a "click." Pulling back the charging handle, a live round ejected and I get off another shot from the next round, then another "click." Same thing, for another sixty or so rounds. From the unfired rounds, shallow indentations where the firing pin hit. Assuming that the BCG wasn't riding rearward fully and the trigger wasn't resetting completely. I cleaned the rifle, very liberally applied oil until the BCM and charging handle moved (very) smoothly, and returned to the range. I got through a few (less than 20) rounds before this started happening again. I tried pulling the BCM back halfway to reset the trigger. That worked, but it defeats the purpose of having a semi-auto rifle, doesn't it? Don't ask me what caused me to do this, but I engaged the safety and then disengaged and squeezed the trigger. BANG. Round ejected, fresh round in, click. Safety on, safety off, BANG. Safety on, safety off, BANG. You get the picture. I remember hearing a separate click aside from the safety a split second after engaging. I think it's the trigger resetting, but I'm not sure.

Would anybody be familiar enough with this type of issue to help troubleshoot it? Many thanks in advance.

Retaks
05-13-12, 20:09
It sounds to me like you have too heavy of a buffer and its not letting the bcg come all the way back. Try an H or H2 buffer and see if it fixes it. Im no expert on AR but thats how it sounds to me. Im sure someone with more knowledge will chime in soon enough.

J Krammes
05-13-12, 20:09