PDA

View Full Version : New Frontier LW-15

bob5674
05-17-12, 06:41
Does anyone have any experience with the all polymer lower? I'm looking for people who have had experience or have friends who have had experience with it. Has anyone gone to 5000 rounds with it? I just want to make sure it will last a while.

7.62WildBill
05-17-12, 06:55
I have no experience with that lower. And from what I have learned here about quality equipment, I never will. Any benefits of a plastic lower are overshadowed by the materials inherent shortcomings in comparison to a mil-spec lower.

bob5674
05-17-12, 07:00
I have been hearing mixed comments throughout other threads about the parts and quality so I think until someone has proof to make me want to buy a ALL polymer lower then i will just get a aluminum. By proof I mean getting a ton of rounds through it because I'm just taking a shot in the dark that these things wont last near as long as a aluminum. Thanks!

huntswithweim
05-17-12, 09:44
I heard that is what the Navy Seals switched to save weight on their rifles. :sarcastic:

bob5674
05-17-12, 09:50
Really? Where did you see that?

huntswithweim
05-17-12, 10:03
I was being a smart ass. Sorry!

Stay away from the polymer lowers. There are selling like crazy right now, at least in this area. I have seen (held in hand) three new frontier lowers that broke/ cracked. One was in front of the grip right behind the mag well. The other two were behind the grip and in front of the receiver plate. It’s not worth saving 30 bucks. If you want to save money on a lower check out Spike’s or PSA or hit Grant up in a few days about the LMT lowers coming in on the 22nd. Those are a hell of deal at 330.00

bob5674
05-17-12, 10:17