PDA

View Full Version : What 2 blades am I looking for?

bsmith_shoot
05-18-12, 13:22
Im just getting into the knife world, and have a few questions? I'm looking for two knives, a folder, and a fixed. Both will be work horses, used daily. I am a fan of the thumb hole for opening, and not the stud. They need non-serrated blades, drop point preferably, and small enough to conceal, but big enough to work with. They will also be used as a secondary defensive tool. What are some good options? What am I looking for?
Thanks,
Brandon

I should add, I cut a lot of boxes, tape, rope, and plastic. In my work environment, I could run into about anything.
Thanks again.

ZoneOne
05-18-12, 13:28

Edit - you clarified as I posted.

For a standard folder with a drop point I have had great success with Spyderco. Good brand, not to expensive. You can get one of these for under $40... Spyderco Tenacious G-10

While this may be too much blade for your task, it might also work great. I've used mine for camping, survival schools both military and civilian and it's held up GREAT : Ontario RAT-5 with a linen micarta handle.

bsmith_shoot
05-18-12, 13:31
I edited at the bottom, its for very general uses, boxes, rope, plastic, door frames, wooden pallets, etc.....

Ironman8
05-18-12, 13:35
For me, any folder will do since I will not use a folder as a defensive tool unless as a last resort. Really, in my case, I would carry a folder to do the "office work" so that I don't have to disclose the fact that I'm carrying a concealed defensive blade.

As for fixed blade, I see this as a secondary, and sometimes primary, defensive tool not used for "office work". It needs to be concealable and fast in deployment. Look up the Tracker Dan Bloodshark if you haven't already...probably one of the best defensive blades out there that is built from the ground up as a defensive blade!

Now I just need to get some real training in proper blade deployment...

bsmith_shoot
05-18-12, 13:42