PDA

View Full Version : G19 as a Backup for G23?

Jaysop
05-23-12, 02:28
So I recently bought a Gen3 G19 that flings brass in my face(its back at glock) with the intent to make it my primary handgun. I'm a novice pistol shooter at best so if im totally missing something let me know.

I'm looking for insight from some people who are much more experienced than I.

If I'm understanding Glocks current situation correctly... they pretty much sacrificed their 9mm line for the sake of the 40 line. So I could confidently buy any generation?

I'm thinking about buying a Glock 23 and using that as a primary. I'm moving to a free state and would like to start carrying. Obviously after more training and a lot of practice. But im getting the ball rolling on things.

What I feel like the 23 will do for me the 19 cant...
1)Wont fling brass in my face
2)More power without a significant capacity sacrifice
3)Instill absolute confidence in the weapon I plan to protect myself and family with.

The benefit in the 19 is the price of ammo. Not significantly cheaper than the 23 but enough that I can shoot more. The other benefit is that I already have it.

What im thinking is that I can practice with both calibers but favor the 9mm so I can shoot more. Kind of like a 22 conversion for 5.56 but more in line in terms of recoil and manipulation.

I consider myself a moderately high round count shooter, maybe not compared to some but I at least shoot 5/7k threw my guns a year generally. Things may change since I have a son now.

So am I missing anything? Does anyone else do this? Are there better options out there for me?

Thanks in advance.

Hogsgunwild
05-23-12, 07:59
It doesn't sound like a bad plan. In recent years, when ammo was scarce on the shelves locally, there was often .40 S&W to be had when I could not find any .45 or 9MM.